The scam: Person of Indian extraction calls a home user claiming to be from Microsoft declaring that the users pc is infected, slow, sending out spam, and basically needs to be repaired. They then proceed very forcefully to try and direct the user to a website where they will remote on to their computer and ‘repair’ the problems for which they have suggested exist. They use strong misleading language, switching to and from their supervisors, and any means necessary to try to extract or extort up to €159 from their victim. They’ll use language like; “Your licensing is invalid”, “You’re sending out Viruses”, etc,etc.
This is occurring all around the country at the moment from what I can tell. I know of 5-10 people who have been approached by this company in the last 3-4 weeks. Ironically, we have also received over 10 phone calls from this company who are amazingly brazen and bully-like in their approach. One of our customers was directed to the Microsoft Event Viewer in an attempt to point out their terrible pc plight. The Event Viewer is, even at the best of times loaded with of errors, and any trip here is going to show such messages. When or if they call you, HANG UP and don’t let them waste your time. These people should be avoided at all times for various reasons;
- You don’t know who they are or what they are going to do with your pc once they gain control of it.
- You don’t know how much fun they’re going to have on your credit card.
- €159 for a Remote IT Repair Service would be a rip-off even in Celtic Tiger Ireland. We provide the service ourselves (Commercial Only) for just €65.
Their link is here:
- The website looks like something from the 80’s – Clue 1
- 5 international phone numbers and no business address – Clue 2
Need anymore. Hope not! The Clue is in the Cold Call..

July 13th, 2010 at 8:35 am
U R Wrong Buddy… It is a genuine company..!!!
July 13th, 2010 at 2:58 pm
Explain how they’re genuine? Also interesting to see that your comment came in from an Indian IP address (IP: 117.194.196.249 ) ?? Hmmmm….
July 16th, 2010 at 10:13 am
I’ve had three such calls and when I asked (the most recent time) what my IP address was, I was told 112.112.4.325. When I said I thought each IP address part could only go up to 255, he told me no, 355.
How will a genuine company tell you that entries in the system log mean the hardware has a virus? Surely hardware virus is called rust?
July 18th, 2010 at 7:01 pm
Hey, “PC Care Online” called me yesterday. There was a virus detected in my computer and I had been working on it all day…running diagnostics and restarting…frusterated. Well, it was a call from India, and they switched me to a guy that was very forceful for me to verify his company’s name and phone number 1-888-408-4117. Said that there will probably be a charge after the tech helps me fix my computer. The computer tech was trying to get my computer working after about 2 1/2 hrs he gave up, said he will call me today at noon. How do I confirm this company? I looked at BBB today, ran their phone number, and company name…nothing on BBB. I called the number and requested information to validate their company they gave me the website “onlinepccare.com” I am searching this site now for verification.
July 28th, 2010 at 5:18 pm
Just ask them if they work for, or are authorized by Microsoft to contact customers and wait for their reaction. Priceless… Total Scam.
July 30th, 2010 at 8:57 pm
Phoned on several occasions when I was out and spoke to my 16 yearold daughter who was very intimidated and told them to call me back. They insisted she log on to the computer and when she told them she did not know the passward insisted she did not need one. She was quite upset by the tone of voice and manner they used. They spoke to me today and again were very insistent that I ran eventviewer and look on my pc. Told them I was too busy and they left a phone no. 01274 790085 for me to call after 7pm the next day!
August 10th, 2010 at 3:20 pm
On 30 July I got a cold call from this Indian call centre and because I felt ill that day sadly I ended up paying £69 forthe technician to clear the “viruses” from my computer and protect it for a year.
Naturally I feel pretty stupid to be taken in in this way.
The sales pitch was very forceful and bullying and I fell for it.
Does anyone know wh to contact to try aand get redress?
August 10th, 2010 at 3:36 pm
Hi Maggie,
I wrote a letter on behalf of my client to their bank. They’ve put in a claim stating “No actual product or service supplied”. There’s no real reason why your credit card company shouldn’t refund the money as far as I can see.
Eamon.